Willie the Kid is an emcee from Michigan that has been gaining a strong following over the last few years. Known for gritty raps about street life and complex metaphors and slang, he often shines on albums and features. He has been releasing a constant stream of material and it has been received to high acclaim. I personally don’t think he is a great as the general public does, but even still, he is a solid emcee with some good songs. He released a few albums last year and put out a solid offering this year, The Living Daylights produced by Bronze Nazareth. I’d like to focus on an album he put out in 2010 though, Never a Dull Moment produced by Lee Bannon.

As I stated above, I don’t necessarily think Willie the Kid is all that special; but putting him over Lee Bannon beats sounds genius to me. I’ve listened to almost all of WTK’s projects and he has never sounded better than on Bannon’s production. Bannon provides gritty backdrops filled with his signature beat chopping style, and obscure samples. Check out some of my favorite tracks below.

 

Cop the album here